The Department of English was established in the year 1976 founded by Professor Biyot Kesh Tripathy. It offers a two-year Master’s degree programme and an M. Phil programme, which was introduced in 1977.

The Master’s degree programme is an advanced level course in English literature and Language. This is one of the few Departments in the country offering Master’s level courses in English Language Teaching, Translation, Creative Writing and Film Studies. The M. Phil programme is a research level course comprising Research Methodology, literary theory, and theories of drama, poetry and fiction. The intake is 30 and 20 students at the M.A. and M.Phil level, respectively.

The Department has organised a number of state level, national and international seminars, conferences, workshops and Refresher Courses. Many distinguished writers, including Nobel laureate William Golding, scholars and critics like, Leslie Fiedler, Christopher Norris (introduced Deconstruction to the Department), Al Young (noted African-American Poet), Raman Seldon, Peter Wolfe, Howard Wolfe, Valentine Cunningham, John Worthen, Valerie Miner, Dorothy Deering, Ed O’Shea, Sissy Helf, Carole Barret, Sukhbir Singh, A. Karunakar, Padmashree Jayanta Mahapatra, et al have visited the Department. The Department has a distinct research culture and the faculty and Scholars are actively engaged in research and have several achievements to their credit. The Department has produced many scholars, poets and administrators of repute.

The Department prides itself with a very good library. It institutes two prizes for its meritorious students,

  1. Doris Deering Prize for the Best Graduate of the year, and
  2. Biyot Kesh Tripathy Award for the best Seminar Paper of the year.

Berhampur University, Berhampur-760007, Odisha - India || For Enquiry Contact Ph No. +91-680-2227333.
Copyright 2017 Berhampur University. All rights reserved.

Designed & Hosted by Suryanandan.net

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.